03.08.2016

Meet Regine Lim…

She first illustrated Date With The Prince of Hell and soon Fake Job. Although both stories are categorize under the genre Romance each book stand-out on its own. DWTPOH is about a human falling for a fallen angel while FJ is about a male cross-dresser working hard for his younger sister. Each book manage to become memorable because of the character design made by Regine.

1457396102030
TRIVIA: DWTPOH became an unexpected best seller and has been reprinted while FJ is at the Top Ten list during September to December of 2015 and during January 2016.

We asked her for her references and here’s what she says…

I’d say there are A LOT of artists that inspire me to draw and write stories (though I lean more to drawing of course). Most of the artists that inspire me are Otome Game Illustrators and some are Manga Artists. I can’t really say it depends on the genre of the story because I’m mainly interested on their art. For me, I guess the genre comes next after loving their art?

The main artists(and works) I look up to are Kazuki Yone (Hakuouki), Udajyo (Brothers Conflict), Hanamura Mai (Amnesia), Mochizuki Jun (Pandora Hearts), Hagiwara Daisuke (Horimiya), Matsuri Hino (Vampire Knight), and Yamamoto Yamato (Owari no Seraph). Their artworks are amazing and I’m simply speechless with how their minds come up with their illustrations. I love seeing detailed works and that’s the main reason why I look up to these artists. I also like how they’re able to maintain their styles from really serious illustrations to whimsical and bright ones. Their consistency is also something I really look up to and is something I hope to achieve someday as well.

 

Collection1

 

Collection2.jpg

Collection3

Collection4

Collection5

Collection6

Collection7

I’ve read a lot of manga that became favourites of mine like Vampire Knight, Pandora Hearts, Owari no Seraph, Horimiya, Taiyou no Ie, The Sleepy Residents of the Birdcage Manor. I’m also into reading Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji, Tsubaki-Chou Lonely Planet, Makai Ouji: Devils and Realist, Short Cake Cake, and Ten Count. The ones I’ve mentioned are pretty much the notable ones I’ve read. As of now, I only have hard copies of Vampire Knight and Owari no Seraph.

I started reading Vampire Knight when I was in my freshmen year of high school and probably started collecting the manga when I was in my senior high. I discovered OnS just last year when I decided to buy its first volume when I first found it at a bookstore!

